Seven Facets of the Great Steppe: Animal style

Seven Facets of the Great Steppe: Animal style

Numerous archeological artifacts discovered during excavations held in Kazakhstan serve as real evidence of the highly developed culture that existed here in antiquity. The items discovered include jars, weapons, unique gold jewelry, as well as written scripts. All these artifacts are important for the chronicles of Kazakhstan’s extensive history, which is currently of great interest among the people of Kazakhstan and beyond.

AIGERIM BERGENOVA, STAFF, NATIONAL MUSEUM OF KAZAKHSTAN:

 -  Every visitor of the National Museum of Kazakhstan first visit the hall of gold items in order to learn about the jewelry art of the ancient Saka people. The National Museum is visited by both citizens of Kazakhstan and foreign delegations and guests who visit the museum every day.

Animal shape, which is present in almost every exhibit of the ancient Saka culture, attracts attention among the Museum’s visitors. The Golden Man discovered in the Issyk burial site in 1969 is evidence. The warrior’s clothes and headpiece were decorated with more than 4,000 gold plates with artful engravings.

AZAMAT DARBAYEV, GUIDE, NATIONAL MUSEUM OF KAZAKHSTAN:

 -  I would like to mention that every detail of the Golden Man’s decoration is made in the shape of various animals, such as snow leopards, deer and birds and each decoration had its own purpose. We can see deer and snow leopards here at the lower part of the head piece and the birds as well. The Saka people worshipped trinity of creation. I would like to mention that each decoration has its own purpose, which reflects the Saka people’s worldview in the first place. Nowadays, we believe that probably their depiction of the animal style reflects their belief or even religion, and I think that it may also reflect the Saka people’s philosophy.

In his article ‘The Seven Facets of the Great Steppe’, President Nazarbayev highlighted that ancestors of the Kazakh people believed that they were integral part of the nature. This key principle shaped their worldview. The ‘animal shape’ reflected their authenticity and deep spiritual beliefs. According to specialists, every person in the world today can see the evidence by looking at the unique artifacts in any museum in Kazakhstan.

"Семь граней Великой степи": звериный стиль

Многочисленные археологические артефакты, найденные в ходе раскопок на территории нашей страны – реальное свидетельство существовавшей здесь в древности высокоразвитой культуры.  В числе обнаруженных предметов – кувшины, оружие, уникальные золотые украшения. Встречаются и письмена.  Безусловно, все это – важная часть богатой летописи Казахстана, которая сегодня вызывает огромный интерес не только у казахстанцев, но и у всего мира. 

АЙГЕРИМ БЕРГЕНОВА, СОТРУДНИК НАЦИОНАЛЬНОГО МУЗЕЯ РК:

- Каждый посетитель, который приходит в Национальный музей, сперва заходит в зал золота, чтобы ознакомиться с ювелирными искусствами древних саков. Не только наши казахстанцы, но и многие зарубежные делегации, гости ежегодно, ежедневно посещают Национальный музей.

Особый интерес к историческому прошлому Казахстана обусловлен присутствием звериного стиля в древних памятниках сакской культуры. Он замечен практически в каждом образце. Ярким свидетельством  этого стал найденный в 1969 году в Иссыкском кургане «Золотой человек». Его одежду и головной убор украшали более четырех тысяч золотых пластин с искусной гравировкой.

АЗАМАТ ДАРБАЕВ,  ЭКСКУРСОВОД ВЫСШЕЙ КАТЕГОРИИ НАЦИОНАЛЬНОГО МУЗЕЯ РК:

- Хочу отметить, что каждая деталь украшений Золотого человека выполнена в форме различных животных, барсов мы там встречаем, мы там можем встретить также оленей различных, птиц и каждое украшение оно имеет свое предназначение. На нижнем уровне  находятся олени. Дальше находятся барсы, наверху имеются птицы. Саки видели триаду поклонения или триаду мираздания. Я хочу отметить, что, действительно, каждое украшение имеет свое предназначение, в  первую очередь, это показывает их мировоззрение. Сейчас мы говорим, что возможно это была какая-то религия, а для саков, я думаю, это была даже целая философия жизни.

Как подчеркивает в своей статье «Семь граней Великой степи» Глава государства, наши предки считали себя неотделимой частью природы. Этот ключевой принцип формировал мировоззрение.  И «звериный стиль» стал отражением их художественного своеобразия и богатства духовного содержания. К слову, сегодня каждый желающий в мире может убедится в этом, взглянув на уникальные артефакты, хранящиеся в любом из музеев республики.