Independence Day of the Republic of Kazakhstan is the main state holiday and is celebrated annually on December 16.


On this day - December 16, 1991 - the Supreme Council of Kazakhstan adopted a law on the independence and state sovereignty of the Republic. After the collapse of the USSR the Kazakh Soviet Socialist Republic was the last of the Republics of the former Soviet Union which proclaimed its sovereignty.


Today we can say with confidence that Kazakhstan has become known in the international arena and took its rightful place among the world's economic systems. Over 120 countries have officially recognized and established diplomatic relations with Kazakhstan. Kazakhstan is a full and active member of the UN. It strives on strengthening cooperation with the most influential international organizations such as the European Union, the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development, International Monetary Fund, the IAEA, the Red Cross, UNICEF and UNESCO. Kazakhstan has joined more than 40 multilateral and 700 bilateral agreements and treaties.